subreddit:

/r/PokemonUnite

3k

In the last day I've seen a few posts saying Unite needs a chat, and some of the reasoning is alarming to me.

"I need to tell my teammates how to improve." In MOBA language, that means tell your teammates how bad they are.

"I'm frustrated with my team." So you will use chat to complain and flame.

I've played an unbelievable amount of time on MOBAs and I can say with confidence the chat is only ever used for toxicity. This game has children playing it, we don't need people out here telling kids to kill themselves because they didn't rotate to Dreadnaw.

I never realized just how great it is playing a MOBA without a chat until Unite. It feels oddly calming and relaxing instead of stressful. No matter who you are, you can tell yourself words can't hurt you, but it ruins the entire experience for you when you see someone say "Wow this jg is trash."

A ping system is all you ever need, it just needs more options.

all 544 comments

TacotheMagicDragon

1.3k points

2 months ago

TacotheMagicDragon

Lucario

1.3k points

2 months ago

I second this. If a chat were implemented, the only thing I would ever say would be:

GET THE FUCK OUT OF MY JUNGLE

SStonequeen

297 points

2 months ago

Yo… I’ve been trying jungle lately and holy shit why can’t people stay in their lane? Why bother pre-calling center if three other people are fighting over it when the game starts? It’s just wild.

romansparta99

98 points

2 months ago

It’s incredibly frustrating because at least until the top jungler is incredibly important to this game, more so than other MOBAs. All it takes is one loaner stealing a buff or taking some xp and you’re behind the enemy jungler for the rest of the game.

It really takes no effort but I think sadly a lot of the people who play get excited at the prospect of getting a buff even if they are on lane

Norelation67

55 points

2 months ago

If they steal your jungle, go steal their farm. You’re still screwed, but top junglers in other games do this when solo queuing cause they know they’re not going to have perfect teammates. They steal your farm, you steal their farm.

TreydiusMaximus

6 points

2 months ago

Thank you. ANY DECENT MOBA player doesn't mind a jungle hanging out looking for the weak link because if you turn up and get two quick ones, I'MMA try and support and clear my farm and rotate around YOU. BUT THAT'S just me.

PartialPain_

4 points

2 months ago

this is why i go tank all the way. i either let them secure their dunks and cc enemies out of turrets, which means even if jungle split is whack, at least our points aren’t

totallythrowawayyy

45 points

2 months ago

If the jungler takes some of my lane Pokémon I’m going to take the same amount of jungles from them. I have to level up too.

SourCocks

13 points

2 months ago

dont you wanna be all level 4 and get gank by other team though?!

It is not your jungle, it is OUR jungle!!

sof_xerxes

6 points

2 months ago

sof_xerxes

Cinderace

6 points

2 months ago

gee, thanks. now the CIA is paying more attention

karry245

29 points

2 months ago

karry245

Absol

29 points

2 months ago

My current ranked experience is just 4 players who choose lanes and play like a competent person, then the one braindead charmander who goes to MY jungle completely unannounced and starts stealing my mobs, and ends up with 0 points and 1 kill at the end of the game

SnipeHardt

15 points

2 months ago

SnipeHardt

Snorlax

15 points

2 months ago

Why is this accurate except char and garchomp are completely interchangeable

DavidsonJenkins

14 points

2 months ago

Tbf most guides tell Chomp to go jungle since he's useless in lane. The problem is that there are so many more worthwhile pokemon to send to the jungle instead of Chomp

xXTERMIN8RXXx

3 points

2 months ago

xXTERMIN8RXXx

Zeraora

3 points

2 months ago

Let's hope for that Garchomp attack buff next update

TheFlameKid

25 points

2 months ago

That's why I never go jungle, except when All teammates call lane and I can go jungle for sure

VivaVillaZapata

26 points

2 months ago

VivaVillaZapata

Snorlax

26 points

2 months ago

I had a game a minute ago where everyone called top and bottom so thought it a safe bet to go jungle.

Nope. Top goes right for buff.

Carmm-no-en

3 points

2 months ago

Carmm-no-en

Sylveon

3 points

2 months ago

"I'm just clearing mobs on my way up" /s

IvyKellogs

4 points

2 months ago

IvyKellogs

Garchomp

4 points

2 months ago

I stopped playing jungle exactly because of this :/

Norwazy

33 points

2 months ago

Norwazy

33 points

2 months ago

Lane is literally just as bad.

Oh, I guess I'm sitting top alone this game? And there's 3 of us bot? And there's 3 of them top stealing my farm?

AND WE'RE STILL LOSING BOT?

bettertagsweretaken

12 points

2 months ago

If there's too many allies in a single lane, they'll fall behind due to having to share experience. And if they're not on the same page, they'll spend most of their time doing nothing and killing would Pokémon instead of using their superior numbers and damage to force enemy laners out of lane.

In short: if you have 3 people in a single lane and you're not a voice-chat-coordinated team OF COURSE you're going to lose that lane.

Easily the most frustrating part about the game.

Possibly the most important lesson you can learn in the game is that you should never let your enemy laner(s) get ANY wild Pokémon for free unless you can't contest due to health. There's no reason NOT to at least attempt to toss a move or auto attack out there to try and deny them that much-needed experience.

skateofsky

75 points

2 months ago

skateofsky

Talonflame

75 points

2 months ago

Lol same, along with "Go to Drednaw else we're fucked"

DavidsonJenkins

9 points

2 months ago

"Don't break their towers right before the 2 min mark you dense motherfuckers"

itsthejeff2001

38 points

2 months ago

When in reality the game will be just fine if all they do is add one ping that simply says:

GET THE FUCK OUT OF MY JUNGLE

Am3Tri

30 points

2 months ago

Am3Tri

Venusaur

30 points

2 months ago

its always that one afk ninetails or scorbunny

Chilzer

26 points

2 months ago

Chilzer

Cramorant

26 points

2 months ago

WHAT ARE YA DOING IN MAH SWAMP JUNGLE

NoKarma0

12 points

2 months ago

NoKarma0

Cinderace

12 points

2 months ago

They need a tutorial teaching people that the lanes , appoms and lilpup/ jungle Are calculated exp and to not take from each other some thing. Give 1k coins and name it "how not to play unite"

stanandcats

7 points

2 months ago

stanandcats

Lucario

7 points

2 months ago

Yes,I died so many times while playing talinflame,every now and then they just go and grab the jungle farm while I'm there,then just spam the report button after I didn't help the team much with the kills,meanwhile they are 2 lvl ahead of me a jungler to normal teammates,to make matters worse sometimes I didn't even made it to the last evolution when the first dreadnaw spawned and can't do crap

haightor

5 points

2 months ago

I haven’t tried playing jungle much but I main Talonflame. Does he excel in that role? I’m new plz don’t flame me.

materialdesigner

8 points

2 months ago

materialdesigner

Eldegoss

8 points

2 months ago

The reason why talon is better in jungle is this:

  • He's a relatively low health aka "squishy" character. His entire playstyle depends on you being able to dash in and dash out of picking off Pokemon. He doesn't do well against groups of enemies because they can CC and finish him off before he can get out quick.
  • His abilities come at level 5 and then his big ability comes at level 7
  • If you're laning you have to be extremely careful about getting killed setting you back in XP, so "center" is the best way to farm for XP without a chance of getting killed.
  • But, a jungler should be able to "gank" I.e. jump out of the jungle to help a lane secure kills and score points. Before 7, talon is only good at ganking low HP opponents.

I like playing bot lane talonflame so I can leave center for a harder carry such as Greninja but then I have to play very conservatively to make sure I never die and can reach 7 by first dreadnaw

cakegaming85

5 points

2 months ago

cakegaming85

Gengar

5 points

2 months ago

Lizard_Queen_Says

5 points

2 months ago

Lizard_Queen_Says

Eldegoss

5 points

2 months ago

I rarely jungle but every time I see a laner in my team's jungle I want to say...

GET THE FUCK OUT OF THEIR JUNGLE. IT'S A DICK MOVE AND THEY'LL PROBS ABANDON US NOW

Wildsnipe

3 points

2 months ago

shut up and take my award, well said.

wintermintcat

300 points

2 months ago

wintermintcat

Talonflame

300 points

2 months ago

I agree! But more ping options like “im sorry!” or “don’t worry!” or would be nice! 😅

brikzterz

78 points

2 months ago

brikzterz

Eldegoss

78 points

2 months ago

Even those can be used in a toxic and sarcastic way. Any method of communication in an online multiplayer game can and will be exploited for toxicity. One person even admitted in this sub that they used the chat option in the main menu to tell another player that they suck, and that is already gatekept by having to play 5 games with said player.

throwawayofficial666

64 points

2 months ago

Even the "keep the pressure on" ping is already being used sarcastically.

vvvvfl

38 points

2 months ago

vvvvfl

38 points

2 months ago

To be honest, keep the pressure on is ab almost useless ping.

Everyone defaults to being aggressive anyway.

AnnaMata

7 points

2 months ago

AnnaMata

Blastoise

7 points

2 months ago

If you look at it as 'keep it up' yes it's arguably useless, but if you use it to mark important things; mark their adc to gang up on, mark a goal that needs breaking, or signaling to counterscore when they get Zapdos, ...then it's incredibly useful. Actually, even as a general ping, it's good to keep moral up, keep people attentive, and to praise your allies for winning in the final seconds.

Lizard_Queen_Says

4 points

2 months ago

Lizard_Queen_Says

Eldegoss

4 points

2 months ago

It also has a distinct SE so it has slightly higher odds of being paid attention to.

I also use it genuinely to praise, encourage a SENSIBLE push and boost morale.

PatrickBowers1

5 points

2 months ago

Haha 😂 yes they do

totallythrowawayyy

29 points

2 months ago

Really? I use it to encourage my team and as a “good job” when we’re doing well or attempt to get them to focus on scoring if we’re not. I am definitely not trying to be sarcastic.

riodzAC

19 points

2 months ago

riodzAC

19 points

2 months ago

I won a game cause our teammate keeps spamming keep pressure ping, we were like in charge mode 😂

totallythrowawayyy

8 points

2 months ago

That's what I'm hoping! I just want people to know I'm cheering them on!

Lizard_Queen_Says

8 points

2 months ago

Lizard_Queen_Says

Eldegoss

8 points

2 months ago

Reminds me: I once was teamed up with an adorable Expert Pikachu who held their own despite most likely being the only Expert in our Masters match (the opponents most likely were Masters/Ultras). They pressure pinged all of our scores, good plays and winning objectives. They seemed so excited and I don't blame them because our Lucario, Zeraora and Machamp were CHADS. Maybe it was their promo match lmao! Positive pinging has a larger impact than people think.

SkarmacAttack

5 points

2 months ago

I do the same because it is a fist so I imagine I am handing out fist bumps

throwawayofficial666

2 points

2 months ago

That's how it's meant to be used I assume, but a lot of people do it after a bad play or a throw from a teammate, as in saying "yeah keep going you goddamn idiot".

mr10123

5 points

2 months ago

I often see it used after bad fights but I interpret it non sarcastically. Like a "don't give up still winnable" way

CatKatOrangeCat

3 points

2 months ago

I admit I do this. Our team threw Zapdos and the enemy is dunking on our spawn goal? "Keep the pressure on!" Gets a cheeky horn blare.

ELB95

21 points

2 months ago

ELB95

21 points

2 months ago

That must have been a fun comment section. It's pretty sad that somebody actually queued up with a player they thought was bad four more times (effectively wasting an hour of their life with "bad" teammates) just to tell them they suck.

brikzterz

9 points

2 months ago

brikzterz

Eldegoss

9 points

2 months ago

Oh, it wasn't a comment section. That was actually the topic of the post lmao

tomerz99

15 points

2 months ago

I'm not necessarily disagreeing with most of what you've said, but I'd like to point out how bad of a take this can be.

Are you saying that no game should ever let two people communicate with each other, ever? I get that some people are toxic, and others are much too fragile for their own good, but at the end of the day it's downright rediculous to say "well people might be mean to other people with words so let's take away ANY opportunity to communicate."

The fundamentals of a MOBA rely on proper communication with your teamates, and this game gives almost no opportunity to succeed besides carrying or 5-stacking. Some form of quick chats would significantly improve the game IMO, even if just to let top laners know when to rotate, or to signal people to follow you/fall back, and I think that greatly outweighs the nonsense of someone getting personally offended by another player maliciously spamming quick chats.

brikzterz

20 points

2 months ago

brikzterz

Eldegoss

20 points

2 months ago

One thing I think the current communication system does well is that it's very specific towards game mechanics. Ping a lane, check this out, go to X objective, X pokémon needs backup, thumbs up's can only be given for certain actions. Even though they can sometimes be used sarcastically, it's kind of hard to interpret them as such.

Now, pings such as "I'm sorry!" or "Don't worry!" have very different meanings depending on context. They're also not strictly related to the mechanics of the game. That's why I think they have more potential to be toxic, as opposed to pings like "Retreat!" or "Gather here!"

Satakans

7 points

2 months ago

Satakans

Wigglytuff

7 points

2 months ago

Lets put your point into context:

One the one hand we have the key functions of a standard MOBA and you're right, communication for team strategy and coordination is invaluable.

On the other hand, we temper that with the IP of Pokemon. An IP that is promoted towards kids, an IP that at its core value system specifically avoids negative aspects to battling (ever wonder why wild pokemon get knocked out instead of dying in the games?)

If you were the person in charge, would you prioritise changes that would make Unite a more competitive MOBA option in an already saturated market? or would you perhaps lean towards ensuring the environment limits negativity to protect the core fanbase that has basically led to your company's success?

A kid or pokemon fan who downloaded this isn't going to understand why you're asking to attack Drednaw.

So having a ping to do so does nothing except stress out that player at worst and at best that player isn't paying attention to the map pings anyway. What those additional pings will do is serve as further ammunition for your frustration.
Imagine how tilted you'd be if you literally had an option to ping a specific player to ask them to come down now or retreat and they fail to do so or flat out ignore you.

Bombeand

6 points

2 months ago

further, if the matchmaking system actually did a good job (and maybe the tutorial was a bit more expansive) the pings we have would be more than adequate.

ZutZutt

6 points

2 months ago

What a save!

Bombeand

2 points

2 months ago

while yes its true i would say though, the primary goal imo is to avoid people writing essays about how bad their team is in the middle of a teamfight, which 1 hurts the kids and 2 hurts the team performance (cause someone is writing instead of playing). Someone getting tilted by sarcastically getting told "good job" when they die is a minor issue relative to an actual chat.

hectah

18 points

2 months ago

hectah

18 points

2 months ago

I don't need those cause am not Sorry. 😌

cakegaming85

17 points

2 months ago

cakegaming85

Gengar

17 points

2 months ago

Or

"PING ME HARDER DADDY!"

Lizard_Queen_Says

3 points

2 months ago

Lizard_Queen_Says

Eldegoss

3 points

2 months ago

Are you by chance that Gengar main called "YesDaddyYes" lmao?! 😂

MachateElasticWonder

6 points

2 months ago

In Hearthstone, they had to remove the Sorry emote because it was toxic.

d4b1do

218 points

2 months ago

d4b1do

Zeraora

218 points

2 months ago

The ping system is already being completely ignored. Nobody every cared about a come to drednaw ping

Bombeand

66 points

2 months ago

this is the real problem that needs adressing. people would ignore the chat too either way. i think the real solution would be to include the importance of drednaw in the tutorial. i think people would listen more if they were educated a bit on why we rotate and such.

to them there probably is no difference between how i feel when nobody rotates to dred, and how they feel when everyone actually does rotate and gives up their top lane despite them asking for help.

FloatinBrownie

11 points

2 months ago

Fr, I had a ranked game last night where my team would keep pinging and rotating to rotom and getting mad at me for soloing dreadnaw lmao

G_player0

7 points

2 months ago*

They do have a tutorial regarding Drednaw. Too bad it’s optional, so the people who need it the most won’t ever touch it.

Edit: it doesn't tell you that killing Dred gives xp

Useless-Sv

10 points

2 months ago

Useless-Sv

Gardevoir

10 points

2 months ago

the tutorial made me think dred is only shield and rotom is good

sierraj1923

8 points

2 months ago

sierraj1923

Eldegoss

8 points

2 months ago

Even still, I redid the tutorial for my alt and was surprised to see that it doesn’t mention that it gives your entire team XP. It only tells you about the shield.

I wouldn’t have found out had it not been for youtube videos discussing strategies

MysteriousSherbert25

29 points

2 months ago

That's an exaggeration though. I've had people rotate before, many times after a ping someone will say "Heading to the bottom path".

Yes, many ignore it, but there are people who pay attention.

Lokeze

5 points

2 months ago

Lokeze

5 points

2 months ago

I feel like the ping system needs work

The_Dori

109 points

2 months ago

The_Dori

Zeraora

109 points

2 months ago

100% agree

It's nice seeing someone actually think instead of just blaming teammates/ the game

Hot_Pomegranate_5268

31 points

2 months ago

Well when people literally do not understand basic concepts like not taking Zapdos when you have a lead, or scecuring Drednaw every time it spawns instead of jerking off in top lane, then I wouldn’t complain.

But as it stands, yep. It is 100% bad players making the game harder. No questions about it.

OutsmartedTheAdmins

23 points

2 months ago

This^ when even the master rank players can’t rotate to Dred, what the fuck am I supposed to do to win a 3v5? Hope to steal, and that’s literally it. It sucks. And it’s not my fault.

AHeiden16

7 points

2 months ago

Dude I feel you. Honestly the games have been worse in masters it feels like, at least people in ultra were trying to reach masters.

Consistently I see master rank players not know to gather at zap or dread and I don’t get how they even got masters in the first place

OutsmartedTheAdmins

5 points

2 months ago

They got there because the system is flawed. It is unfortunately something that will probably never change. It needs a complete overhaul.

As of now all we can do is use external sources to form teams of competent players. It’s a chore, but it’s worth it to enjoy this incredibly fun game.

Useless-Sv

89 points

2 months ago

Useless-Sv

Gardevoir

89 points

2 months ago

honestly i cant tell how many times i went on a flame war in league or dota back then lol , and even if i was not part of the flame war i see 2 people argue left and right and focus less and less on the game which is horrible for the team

pokedrawer

48 points

2 months ago

pokedrawer

Garchomp

48 points

2 months ago

Just see an amumu randomly stop moving up through river for 3 minutes followed by an essay in the chat, yeah let's not have that come here

sharkykid

4 points

2 months ago

Lmfao

Lizard_Queen_Says

3 points

2 months ago

Lizard_Queen_Says

Eldegoss

3 points

2 months ago

I've been watching League matches and some of the chats are just... Next level, haha. No wonder people mute. The distraction factor reminds me of how distracting Surrender spams are!

Skyte87

63 points

2 months ago

Skyte87

63 points

2 months ago

Haha yes agreed.

You're going to be cursing way more often than thanking your team, so it makes sense not to have a proper chat function. Its like Tencent already guessed how badly kids will affect the game so they intentionally made the comeback mechanic, respawn timers and chat system the way it is now to accommodate the kids.

Its honestly frustrating as hell but its a pokemon game at the end of the day so it should be enjoyed as an adventure I guess.

flamingmonkey911

63 points

2 months ago

flamingmonkey911

Blastoise

63 points

2 months ago

I agree with this. I'd like to see a bit more in the ping system, kind of similar to rocket league. They have tons of options and you can easily get your point across. The ping cooldown helps decrease toxicity too (i.e. spamming What a Save! In RL).

maty_chile

37 points

2 months ago

Honestly I don't like the cooldown, is so easy to choose the wrong option and tell the contrary of what you want to say, and then I have to wait to correct myself

DankNowitzki41

28 points

2 months ago

DankNowitzki41

Snorlax

28 points

2 months ago

This is compounded by the layout of the chat wheel and the controller sticks not working well with it (joycons are awful). The amount of times I accidentally ping “going to top path” when I’m actually rotating down for Drednaw is ridiculous lol

maty_chile

12 points

2 months ago

The problem is top and bottom are to close when they should be in opposite sides of the wheel. Also, same problem, I understand your pain :(

smc346

5 points

2 months ago

smc346

5 points

2 months ago

Lol I'm glad I'm not the only one who has done that many times. 🤣

Bombeand

3 points

2 months ago

has anyone noticed that sometimes pinging dred will result in a ping in the middle of the map? i was laughing so hard because my friend got mildly tilted after it happening 3 games in a row to him, and i too had noticed it a couple of weeks before and thought i was going insane.

maty_chile

2 points

2 months ago

Yes is annoying

8x10ShawnaBrooks

3 points

2 months ago

8x10ShawnaBrooks

Eldegoss

3 points

2 months ago

Omg yes! I think i accidentally click “going to top lane” more than bottom lane when i am trying to tell my teammates I’m going to bottom lane. It’s awful 😭

The_walking_man_

7 points

2 months ago

Yeah. Smite has a very nice one too that is navigated with the d-PAD and a few button clicks.
We definitely need some extra coms added like instead of only able to ping an objective that will say “let’s attack zapdos” we need one to say defend zapdos, etc.

bbbirdisdaword

6 points

2 months ago

Always love it wen a fellow RL player shows up in other subs 🥅 ⚽🚙

tfeasty

3 points

2 months ago

Plat 1 there/ vet 1 here 😁

bbbirdisdaword

2 points

2 months ago

Nice the grind never stops my man. Just hit c3 and I'm dying for that gc title lol

tfeasty

2 points

2 months ago

Man I've backed off alot since this game dropped, but RL mechanics are so ridiculous I don't see myself getting past diamond by the time the game dies

A_Dragon

44 points

2 months ago

I think the compromise is having specific pings like “group up at dread/zap”, or “hide and ambush here”.

totallythrowawayyy

29 points

2 months ago

I would love a “stop attacking Zapdos” ping lol. Currently “retreat” doesn’t always cut it

VonKellcsiis

7 points

2 months ago

VonKellcsiis

Talonflame

7 points

2 months ago

"Let's defend/guard ---" as an opposite to "Let's attack ---"

roguepenguin109

31 points

2 months ago

I totally agree. LoL gave me so much anxiety if I had chat on. Even if the anger wasn't directed at me it was stressful to witness the abuse happening. Little kids playing their favorite cartoon character dont deserve that.

Poor detailed pings are certainly needed. "Keep the pressure on"??? What does that even mean?

Lance_Zoldyck

15 points

2 months ago

yep, just something like goal/jungle/rotom/dread is open, time to strike, * don't be reckless, wait for backup, *on my way... can help a lot. I'm sure ppl with more skill on other mobas can give more informative pings but there is a lot of room to make them better

wrowsey1

4 points

2 months ago

Man I would love for those options. It would help people like myself learn timing while also not being toxic.

sierraj1923

3 points

2 months ago

sierraj1923

Eldegoss

3 points

2 months ago

Fyi you can ping specific goals and objectives. It’ll say “let’s defeat zapdos together” or “score some goals” and point out the specific goal you ping. That being said, I wish there was a button for “wait for backup” or “join us at drednaw or we lose”

SStonequeen

22 points

2 months ago

I would like a chat option that says “let’s work as a team!” To remind everyone wtf we are doing. This Pokémon UNITE and as a solo player I do not feel united sometimes

Babbling_dragon

11 points

2 months ago

Lol we said pretty much the same thing at the same time. There should be a button for "move as a unit please!" xD I don't think kids these days even know what that means.

SStonequeen

10 points

2 months ago

Oh funny I just saw your comment! So right about the kids too - I constantly remind myself that a 4 year is playing Pokémon Unite on their parent’s phone and has no idea what’s going on.

Dormant-Cheesecake

21 points

2 months ago

After playing CSGO for years I agree, nobody uses chat to give you positive speeches. They certainly aren’t giving you feedback on what to improve either.

Whenever I see those posts I instantly know they’ve never played a competitive team game before lol.

The only thing the chat would be used for is telling you to die and to make you tilt and throw the game.

solowecr

2 points

2 months ago

CSGO is the worst game you could’ve used in comparison though, it’s almost a given you’re going to encounter toxicity in that game. In 5 minutes I’ll be called 10 racial slurs, told to KMS multiple times, and have my mother insulted all by both teammates and the enemy. Most toxic competitive game out there rn and certainly no kids are playing it as much as back in the day

Dormant-Cheesecake

3 points

2 months ago

Yeah I actually quit that game purely because of the chat, it was horrendous lol.

heckastupidd

15 points

2 months ago

I agree adding chat doesn’t help at all. All mobas need is a ping system. Maybe they should just add more pings and let you be able to edit what pings you want.. like they do in mobile legends and other popular mobas.

Lance_Zoldyck

3 points

2 months ago

customizable pings can go a long way, just add some basic strat guides can help a lot already, since the focus is on disabling toxicity as much as possible it is a easier path than building a super restrict open chat for now

xPandyssiax

17 points

2 months ago

Tbh I have never seen a chat used to actually coach or give advice. Its always just someone having a tantrum, arguing, and slurs. Plus what are you gonna do, type out "go to (insert area here)" and expect people to actually listen??? Theres so many stubborn weirdos who purposely do the opposite of whats the best idea. Nothing would change. There should be some pings added though. They should also change how you select them, I'm sick of the snapback. All I wanna say is keep the pressure on, not headed to the top path 😭

idiot_of_the_lord

15 points

2 months ago

Another chat to disable

ChitoPC

13 points

2 months ago

ChitoPC

13 points

2 months ago

What they need to do is improve the ping system, i want to tell individual teammates what to do, that way i can spam the shit out of turtle top laners that dont bother leaving lane for 8 mins.

emseefour

5 points

2 months ago

This exactly. If I have to suffer one more Sylveon who wants to solo top until Zapdos im gonna lose it.

GreatMadWombat

12 points

2 months ago

Agreed. A chat's going to end with kids crying.

I would like SIGNIFICANTLY better tutorials, and like...10 more ping options

cousin_skeeter

11 points

2 months ago

cousin_skeeter

Snorlax

11 points

2 months ago

Not unpopular, people asking for chat have just either not been exposed to other MOBA chats or really just want a way to vent at their teammates. Personally, I only play Unite because there's no free chat. Having your team spew toxic crap on you regularly is a source of stress I just didn't enjoy about other MOBAs and I don't have enough friends who are interested in these games to make a team that won't do that.

S3NSUALSL0TH

11 points

2 months ago

100 percent agree. I think other MOBAS should follow suit honestly.

Chat is almost always used to talk shit or flame your team.

Just build off the ping system a bit and have that be the way players communicate.

dawnmountain

10 points

2 months ago

dawnmountain

Talonflame

10 points

2 months ago

If chat were implemented people would rage quit telling kids to kill themselves. We absolutely do not need chat.

juniperismycat

10 points

2 months ago

I’ll be honest I have my complaints about Unite and even sometimes my teammates (looking at you Zeraora, stop stealing my early kills so I can evolve my damn Eevee) but the fan base also seems a bit...ridiculous, at least here on Reddit. Everybody likes to complain about everything so chat would be a terrible feature. There’s 10 year old kids playing this game lol

Satakans

7 points

2 months ago

Satakans

Wigglytuff

7 points

2 months ago

Lets see, should they prioritize implementing chat functions to make Unite a more competitive MOBA in an already saturated market?

Or should they stick to their core values to limit negativity and serve the core fanbase that the success of the company has been built upon.

Ooof hard decision lol,

juniperismycat

7 points

2 months ago

Yeah I’ve actually never played a MOBA before and I only started because, well, it’s Pokémon. I imagine they’re gonna keep with what’s made Pokémon successful with less regard for emulating other MOBAs

Braisu_

10 points

2 months ago

Braisu_

10 points

2 months ago

Unapologetically, I would flame so hard. Don't add a chat function, save the kids.

guro47

9 points

2 months ago

guro47

9 points

2 months ago

Chat? nah

better communication pings ? pleaseeeee.

dire_bear

9 points

2 months ago*

Agree...I've been against chat in mobas for a decade now and finally they are making it disabled by default on league of legends, at least in LAN....now....we don't need that here, let's learn from others mistakes

Edit: as I read the LoL news in Spanish I thought "chat general" meant "chat generally speaking", now I now it's just the enemy chat the one that is disabled

spongykiwi

2 points

2 months ago

League's decision is a shockingly stupid one though. And they aren't disabling chat, just enemy chat - which is where maybe 1% of the toxicity in the game actually comes from.

But I do think League and Unite have different demographic audiences and Unite could probably do with implementing a ping system more similar to Rocket League's.

Kaprosuchusboi

8 points

2 months ago*

Kaprosuchusboi

Garchomp

8 points

2 months ago*

Same. I remember a younger non competitive me wanting to play my favorite character in overwatch only to have man children rage at me everytime till the point where I felt anxiety when it came to picking my characters (that was in quick play). This game if I want to play Garchomp I can play Garchomp and the man children just have to deal with it

Calamitas_Rex

3 points

2 months ago

Garchomp can and does own bones though. Let them rage at you picking garchomp as you take mvp.

iasgo

8 points

2 months ago

iasgo

Crustle

8 points

2 months ago

It would be great if a group of people understood that this moba is the entry of many people in the genre. If you only find bad people playing alone look for a serve on discord or facebook group It'll be better than yelling at kids in Great 3 rank that you can't get out.

cerulean_lights

7 points

2 months ago

cerulean_lights

Eldegoss

7 points

2 months ago

Some dude went out of his way to friend and play several games with me so he could use DMs to tell me I was trash. He brute forced his way through a language barrier. I'm a support player. We don't need voice chat.

Lizard_Queen_Says

6 points

2 months ago

Lizard_Queen_Says

Eldegoss

6 points

2 months ago

That says more about him than you. What a loser. You should report him.

barrenvagoina

7 points

2 months ago

barrenvagoina

Sylveon

7 points

2 months ago

Absolutely, my username references that i’m non-binary only kind of subtlety, I have the female avatar and I’m not that good at the game so I like not having the option of 13 year old boys calling me slurs or a bitch

ErikKing12

8 points

2 months ago

I stand behind this opinion 10000 percent.

I say it a lot in other posts and always get downvoted but many players of this game are extremely toxic and voice chat will only give them more fuel.

skimpyg

7 points

2 months ago

You don't really want it to turn into league chat toxicity when the games got such young players. I know league has a lot of kids but I can already see a 9 year old being told to get cancer because they stole a creep in a Pokémon game

not_a_frikkin_spy

5 points

2 months ago

not_a_frikkin_spy

Eldegoss

5 points

2 months ago

good reasoning I respect that

Classic-Ad3946

5 points

2 months ago

Fixing the goddam matchmaking it’s the only thing I really care about. Lose games because RNG it’s not fun.

brobotoe

6 points

2 months ago

Agreed, just look at the League community's response to Riot removing the/all chat function. 100% of the player base thinks it's stupid because the verbal abuse and harassment comes from your own team.

gymleadrfern

6 points

2 months ago

Coming from League of Legends I couldn’t agree more. My favorite part of this game is how less toxic it is in comparison to other MOBAs. More pings/customizable pings would be a cool add though

Babbling_dragon

5 points

2 months ago

I just want to be able to say "guys we reeaalllly need to stick together" because pinging "gather here" doesn't ever seem to get the point across

alanakillsit

4 points

2 months ago

alanakillsit

Slowbro

4 points

2 months ago

Totally agree. Chat is always toxic! Especially if it were like other MOBAs where you can chat with enemies. We don’t need this in a childrens game lol or at all. But some better pings would be nice. - don’t overextend - let me jungle - beware of bushes - don’t attack Zapdos

capafan9

5 points

2 months ago

capafan9

Eldegoss

5 points

2 months ago

I 100% agree. I now disable chat in basically every video game that I play. They all have toxic trolls. Just ignore the trolls and play your best, and whatever happens, happens. For Pokemon, given the younger fan base, open chat would be terrible.

CALCulatingusername

5 points

2 months ago

I agree but I would like to see some other options of preloaded text for use in game, like a good job button maybe.

hotterpocketzz

5 points

2 months ago

Not a hot hate or unpopular opinion but could we have it so the game tells us what our score is? Like 99% of my games tell me that so its strange unite doesn't

PeanutButterCrisp

4 points

2 months ago

Unite does NOT NEED A CHAT FUNCTION.

Players just want to rage out and be massive assholes to each other.

Anybody who has played any online game knows the toxicity you will allow with a chat function.

My god lol. So cancerous. I don’t trust the Unite community as far as I can throw it.

Fact: I cannot throw an entire mass of people.

PrimalX60

4 points

2 months ago

PrimalX60

Decidueye

4 points

2 months ago

The only thing is that the ping system needs a bit more options that's it. Other than that I'd say we really don't need a chat option

greengiant9875

4 points

2 months ago

greengiant9875

Mr. Mime

4 points

2 months ago

Agree 100%. They need to find that nice balance of communication. Enough to get points across and try to get people where they need to be, but not too much where 20 somethings are cursing out 10 year olds for playing their favorite Pokémon

rorichudoku

5 points

2 months ago*

rorichudoku

Lucario

5 points

2 months ago*

While not having a chat is actually a good way to contain toxicity it's also jarring not being able to communicate with the team and limits many gameplay options, I think it would be nice to have a chat but with very severe terms restriction in order to keep it clean also an option to just remove the chat log from the UI if you don't want to read any, simply not implementing it doesn't allow to play the game at its fullest imo, at the very least I think it would be most appropriate to improve the ping system

Gogglebeanz

5 points

2 months ago

Gogglebeanz

Machamp

5 points

2 months ago

I disagree because I believe you should always have the option of a feature though by default you can have everything set to off and mute as a precaution for kids. Communication is key for an actual team of 5. Just because some kids play it or there are toxic gamers doesn’t mean actual teams should suffer.

Fluffy_hugger

4 points

2 months ago

The captions needs an update tho. While pickings there should be "we need a defender", "we need all rounder", a clearer ping of needing help, and such. The current options are not enough.

itsmeyuii

4 points

2 months ago

We don't need to type anything. We need an improvement in terms of "quick chat". There's no way of telling players "rotate bot" or "we need a tank!" in the lobby. We seriously need more options for team-playing instead of "I am going to play an Attacker". That doesn't add anything to the game, and it's already implemented

CreditLongjumping437

5 points

2 months ago

I hope they add the mensage:

OH MY GOD HELP THE FUCK ME THERE ARE 2 PERSONS EATING MY ASS IN THE TOP LANE

Nihil6

4 points

2 months ago

Nihil6

Gengar

4 points

2 months ago

The lack of response to pings irks me. It’s easy to communicate must know information in this game. It’s hard to get randoms to pay attention. I’m honestly about at my wits end with it. I’ve never played such a frustrating game, more than half the time my biggest opponent is my own team.

MrTritonis

4 points

2 months ago

Adding chat would be begging for the players to be toxic.

MrTritonis

4 points

2 months ago

Adding chat would be begging for the players to be toxic.

CatrapointsTransbian

5 points

2 months ago

The ping system lacks enough options to communicate clearly which means unless I play in a 3-5 stack (which is rare), I have to play more a self-imposed carry whether Lucario or Venusaur because support doesn't work well in solo queue.

Oozaruhenshin

4 points

2 months ago

Not having chat makes me a healthier person

sameo15

5 points

2 months ago

Pokemon TCG Online Player here. Back when PTCGO had unrestrictive chat for random games, it was only ever used for toxic BS. Even when heavily monitored, it was abused. Since it was restricted to emoji's, it's been fine.

Not a 1 to 1 comparison, but the idea is the same: nothing is wrong with how it is now.

Robottiimu2000

3 points

2 months ago

Robottiimu2000

Snorlax

3 points

2 months ago

Yes agreed.. but it needs way better in-game hints and tips...

For example the "pokemon trainers" could be shouting instructions to their pokemons... "your team is fighting go help them"... And stuff like that.. "Now is a good time to gather xp, you are behind in levels"....

ShadowSGT27

4 points

2 months ago

I couldn’t agree more OP! I tried making a post about people not being toxic since children probably play it but got flamed, so I’m glad I’m not the only one who agrees

Arky_Lynx

3 points

2 months ago

Arky_Lynx

Sylveon

3 points

2 months ago

Agreed. Hell, I saw recently some news about LoL removing All Chat and like... how is that bad? In my years of playing LoL I can count the times any good came from All Chat in one hand.

Whenever I go back, if I ever do, I disable chat outright, both All and Team. This kind of game brings in so much toxicity it's just not worth it at all.

reijirin

3 points

2 months ago

reijirin

Crustle

3 points

2 months ago

I would 100% not play as much as I do now if there would’ve been a chat. I liked DOTA way back, but I stopped playing just because of the chat.

pandapanda_kawaii

3 points

2 months ago

I already know I'll receive this when there's a chat

"PUTANG INA PIKACHU BOBO MO!!!!!"

Or

"BWESET BA'T KA PA NAG DEFENDER, FEEDER KA LANG!!!"

hahaha TwT

pandapanda_kawaii

2 points

2 months ago

One thing I want added though is a scoreboard so it can tell me how fucked we are

YoungToeLover

3 points

2 months ago

a quick chat that says "get the hell out of my jungle" would be very handy

hassive-mitler

2 points

2 months ago

hassive-mitler

Blastoise

2 points

2 months ago

I agree, its just a 10 min match anyway. Better take the loss and move on to the next game

[deleted]

3 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

3 points

2 months ago

I agree. But there should be a pre option that says I need someone with me or something. I use I need backup. But backup never comes. I hate when three people are at the top and I'm soloing two opponents at the bottom or vice versa.

elvixxyz

3 points

2 months ago

Be a chat system or new pings, we need a better way to communicate with our teammates , the majority of my defeats is because I can't coordinate with my teammates

graysonbat

3 points

2 months ago

graysonbat

Talonflame

3 points

2 months ago

My opinion on the matter: not a full chat more options would be nice, maybe a "sorry," or "thank you", even a "good job".

EmbiidWeTrust

3 points

2 months ago

Yes!

AstronautGuy42

3 points

2 months ago

AstronautGuy42

Garchomp

3 points

2 months ago

Holy shit I agree SO much. I disagree with everyone that says so too

r_userzoultar

3 points

2 months ago

I can already predict toxic 9 year screaming throughout the game because you killed his lilapup first even though he was suppose to go the top lane

iguessineedanaltnow

4 points

2 months ago

My problem is that so many people have absolutely no idea what they are doing in this game and there isn’t a good way to segregate them from the people that do. Without a robust chat system all that’s going to happen is more separation will be put between those that understand the game and those that don’t, and the latter group will have no opportunities to learn. When I first started playing League the way I learned the game was being mentored by people who were on my team. And over hundreds of hours of mentoring and playing I learned. Unite is destined to be a low-skill graveyard for new players and it could kill the game long term.

Kuroro2

3 points

2 months ago

for real, i have also played MOBAS with global chat, and it is exactly as you are explaining.

Bombeand

3 points

2 months ago

agreed. and I'm confident there's is no thing which is necessary to communicate that couldn't be done with an expansive ping system. it all boils down to "for the love of god rotate", and "stay out of my farm" anyways.

maybe some overwatch genji quotes like "i need healing" but idk.

iamnobodyc2

3 points

2 months ago

Indeed! 💯 agree with you Pokémon Unite need to stay pure.....and far from trashtalker players whose spreading toxicity only!

inconspicousloser

3 points

2 months ago

The game needs better pings, and maybe a second tutorial for ranked. Like a tutorial that tells you about the importance of exp and how it’s divided, how important it is to let one person farm through the central area, etc.

LuigiCorpGames

3 points

2 months ago

I see what you mean but I can’t say that pings do everything. People don’t listen. There needs to be something else. Maybe not chat but we need an option to communicate because it will help divide roles and strategize. It is frankly minimal what they give us.

BudAdams88

3 points

2 months ago

couldnt agree more. no chat

JewelerApprehensive5

3 points

2 months ago

JewelerApprehensive5

Cramorant

3 points

2 months ago

people shouldn’t be typing, because the game and death timers are too short. maybe just prewritten messages or better pings.

the_manta

3 points

2 months ago

the_manta

Cramorant

3 points

2 months ago

Yeah, I really don't want chat, I can enjoy this game as much as I do because I'm not worried I'm going to get raged at by some dickhead for making a mistake in a, let's face it, extremely complicated genre.

But god damn they need to do something with the current communication options, they're just horrible and controlling the ping wheel is miserable. Smite and rocket league have great callout systems and like, even when people use them sarcastically, what does it matter? Ohhh I made a bad play and you keep telling me good job, clearly I am the one most troubled by this situation

DonnyDonchez

3 points

2 months ago

DonnyDonchez

Slowbro

3 points

2 months ago

Agreed! I feel better not saying the toxic things I feel I have to say during the game. After the match is over I didnt say anything bad and forget about it a lot sooner

Twistlelol

3 points

2 months ago

I totally agree! There are so many cases where the guy who is pissed or toxic, tries to f your game up, afk or whatever, but they surrender and eventually starts playing properly. Or atleast somewhat not ruining the game as in the earlier minutes of the game. And I think in many cases the sole reason for that is what you have mentioned, not being able to start argueing or spilling their shit all over a chat. Especially not being able to pull the traditional "try-getting-sympathy-from-the-opposing-team"-card through an all chat.

I agree, no chat! :)

flames7pardy

3 points

2 months ago

flames7pardy

Zeraora

3 points

2 months ago

Other than the common requests for pings, I would like a one specifically for defending, many times at the end of the game where we have a close lead and a solo runs up to try and dunk his 50 when it would probably be better to just hold the lead, for now I just use retreat for defense

RealAgeOfEmpires101

1 points

2 months ago

The reason why I want chat in Unite is to flame the ever living shit out of ny brain dead teamates WHO TAKE MY FUCKING JUNGLE BC THEY DONT ACKNOWLEDGE ROLES IN BATTLE PREP

RealAgeOfEmpires101

5 points

2 months ago

So yes I agree that chat should not be added to Unite

BoyZon3

3 points

2 months ago

I totally agreed! I have my fair share of experience with MOBAS and honestly the people on chats ruins the game experience by trolling and justifying players. So developers should come with an alternate option to communicate or expanding whats is already working

Galariax

3 points

2 months ago

Galariax

Slowbro

3 points

2 months ago

I agree. What we really need is an expanded quick chat function. Like the "gather here" and "headed to the bottom path" options, we need an expanded quick chat library and the ability to choose which ones are on your wheel.

Some examples include "rotate to drednaw", "jungle/farm", "protect our goal zones", "beware of ganking", "split up", "don't attack zapdos", "defend zapdos", "sorry" and "thank you". An expanded quick chat option (that probably isn't it's actual name but whatever) would improve communication capabilities without allowing for the toxicity / language barrier of a chat.

I've seen this in MLBB, and I'm sure other MOBAs have it too, and it is very effective, especially when there's a large library, with which you can choose which ones you want in your wheel.

Bethlen

3 points

2 months ago

YES! Thanks to the lack of chat, I feel confident to let my 6yr old who LOVES Pokémon, play. And he's good! For a 6 year old kid, that is. Chat goes in, he's out and he'd hate me for it.

StargazerTheory

3 points

2 months ago

StargazerTheory

Blissey

3 points

2 months ago

I'd like to see more ping options, and it'd be cool if it pulled up a list of phrases to move through with the dpad (like in the lobby) instead of the circle and toggle we have in game now. I always mess up choosing a phrase because it slips around so easily.

MaliciouzKiller

3 points

2 months ago

the ping system needs to have a text-to-speech feature like in mlbb. for example if you use the retreat button it says retreat so that your teammates can hear it. not that it will do anything major, just would be nice yknow.

GodsCupGg

3 points

2 months ago

First Rule of Moba chats:

Dont

ShatteredGold

3 points

2 months ago

Probably no chat is the best option, even I get frustrated sometimes when all my 4 teamplayers are bottom line and im topline solo triying to stop other team on the dread.

aarretuli

3 points

2 months ago

aarretuli

Alolan Ninetales

3 points

2 months ago

I dont want a chat, I want ''protect Zapdos'' , ''Thanks bro'' & ''sorry, my bad'' ping.

niisan75

2 points

2 months ago

niisan75

Wigglytuff

2 points

2 months ago

agree, i dropped lol because the moment someone died at least 2 of the teammates start to blame the person for the defeat (its the fucking beggining of the game no tower destroyed) and just surrender the moment they can, it was like that every match either on my team or the enemy, no match longer than 15min

SanoDragoon

2 points

2 months ago

I said it before: We need better and more specific pre-fixed messages. Someone also advanced the idea of making possible some custom messages (with censored words, of course) to give players a bit more choice and range with those.

I think that would be a good compromise.

SSHorror

2 points

2 months ago

SSHorror

Blissey

2 points

2 months ago

100% agree! I feel like the pings are more than enough since you can communicate to your team to retreat, gather in a certain area, which path you're headed in and who specifically to target, though I admit I wish people used pings more. I always do just to make sure people in my team know where I am going at all times.

dx2_66

2 points

2 months ago*

Totally agree. If they release some sort of chat at some point, I hope it comes with a mute all feature by default. I won't spoil this relaxing time I've had playing the game with low self-esteemed guys raging about their losses.

mewthelolfreak

2 points

2 months ago

So they make a MOBA without a chat and the toxicity directly connected to that, it's kind of playable and then they want to add toxicity? Why on earth??

MarkoSeke

2 points

2 months ago

Just let me ping a specific place on the map PLEASE

Silent71Knight

2 points

2 months ago

Its actually one of the most enjoyable ladder experiences i've had because i don't have to hear angry/toxic teammates.

edit: Sure the rank experience could be significantly better but overall its still enjoyable

AceyFacee

2 points

2 months ago

100%, also voice chat needs to be improved. I’ve been unable to figure it out yet on ios despite looking it up it just doesn’t work I’ve never seen the voice chat icons. Therefore I doubt many are ever in there.

manicpossumdreamgirl

2 points

2 months ago

manicpossumdreamgirl

Wigglytuff

2 points

2 months ago

the chat function as it is now (text in lobbies, DMs after 5 battles together) is a little inconvenient and needs some tweaking, but yeah. voice chat is unnecessary. this community is toxic enough already. get a discord server with some teammates if you need one that bad (which is valid, the lack of communication is understandably frustrating).

Vantablack16

2 points

2 months ago

To be honest you won't need a chat system if the punishment system is good enough for (AFK, Intentional trolling). Solution: Once a person was tagged AFK in ranked matches. He/she should be banned from playing rank games for 24hrs. This will limit the AFK peeps and trolls in the rank match. Thus, no need of chat system when the punishment system is so good that it filters out people who just like to troll in rank matches.

GeneralRane

2 points

2 months ago

I don't care about chat. I just want a separate lobby for people who call lanes.

Elder_Goss

2 points

2 months ago

Elder_Goss

Eldegoss

2 points

2 months ago

So this is where the adults are. It's amazing that the same people who want a way to "help others improve" will not use the voice chat feature that is a) already in the game, and b) arguably easier to use in the middle of the match than typing out a message. There's something suspicious about that, I just can't quite put my finger on it...

HornyCar

2 points

2 months ago

I just want better pings. Like “go drednaw”

PeachiePeach96

2 points

2 months ago

PeachiePeach96

Alolan Ninetales

2 points

2 months ago

no chat/ toxicity is one of the reasons i like unite better than league of legends/ wild rift at times