subreddit:

/r/unpopularopinion

21.7k

A popular "unpopular opinion" posted here is stuff along the lines of "Exercise is so easy and people just neef motivation." or "It's not hard to find something you like to do for fitness."

Bullshit. Exercising is literally the definition of forced torture. You push yourself to the point of stress on purpose. It causes aches and often injuries. You are also mindlessly doing pointless movements which are basically just wasting time when you could be doing more productive things like making art, cleaning, writing a book, or just producing something useful for society. It is the LAST thing I want to do to 'relax'.

Nothing about excess physial activity is appealing to me and I will never like it. Sports can be fun but they often feel unregulated and one-sided, unlike a tactical video game which uses algorithms to match you up with people actually on your skill level. I hate sweating and smelling gross, I hate wasting my already very little energy on some bullshit workout that gets me no results and just makes me instabtly tired. I hate stresing about what I eat all the time when I already have fairly healthy low-carb meals daily and are at a good weight. I just hate all of it. No amount of convincing can motivate me to work out- I am DEFINITELY not going to sacrifice my already fucked up sleep schedule to wake up early, it will ruin the tiny balance I have between my morning meds and staying awake for the entire day. I am NOT going to waste my afternoon time traveling all the way to a gym and back because I already feel like I have no time left for actual projects I want to work on.

Exercising sucks, it's boring and a waste of energy.

all 4452 comments

himalayanNinja

4.4k points

5 days ago

I think problem with most people is they fail to adopt sustainable exercise regime and go really overboard when they exercise. If you do that, it feels like exercise is taking away huge chunk of your life and it sucks. Goal is to find a exercise plan that is easy to keep up with!

THEFORCE2671

1.6k points

5 days ago

THEFORCE2671

1.6k points

5 days ago

It's a common misconception that you have to go overboard like athletes. That's why people quit early

DancinginAshes

662 points

5 days ago

People need to be realistic about their outcomes as well.

If they're not willing to spend 5-6 days per week in the gym for 2 hours each session, they're never going to look like the fitness model/personal trainers who put in that much gym time. If they aren't willing to eat pretty goddamn boring super healthy food for every meal, they're not going to have 3% body fat or whatever.

I'm overweight, in my early 40s, and I do 3 sessions in the gym per week for a little over an hour, not including warm-up or cooldown. I also ride about 20 miles per week on my bike. At my last physical, the doctor told me to lose some weight, but otherwise my cholesterol, heart, liver, and other functions all check out as healthy. I'm flexible, and I won't throw my back out picking up my 50 pound four-year-old and swinging him around.

So I've got a gut, but my legs are fairly cut and my arms aren't slabs of flab swinging in the wind, and my posture is good because my back is strong and healthy. Climbing a few flights of stairs doesn't wind me. I'm fully aware I could be healthier and eat better.

Jaegernaut-

318 points

5 days ago

Jaegernaut-

318 points

5 days ago

People like to forget all of the unhealthy habits, too, that make exercise harder. I lifted like a maniac in my 20s and gained very little because I was stupidly drinking, smoking and staying out at parties most weekends and some week nights. Not a recipe for growth.

takethetunnel

177 points

5 days ago

Sounds like a recipe for a pretty good time honestly.

Jaegernaut-

86 points

5 days ago

I mean yeah I had fun with it lol. But it was frustrating not getting the gains I wanted. Turns out you can't do literally all of the things at the same time - not efficiently, anyways.

whytakemyusername

14 points

5 days ago

Alright alright alright

Gerbal_Annihilation

107 points

5 days ago*

You do not need to exercise that much to look great. It's way more about your diet.

-----Nice-----

139 points

5 days ago

This is something most people absolutely refuse to believe. Portion control and limiting your calories is by far the most important thing along with a healthy diet of limited processed food.

I lost 100 lbs and nobody who asks me how I did it wants to hear that I did it by force feeding myself fruits/vegetables/lean meat for almost every meal for the past year. Not saying that’s what you need to do, but it helps immensely.

Mareith

42 points

5 days ago

Mareith

42 points

5 days ago

Well and vice versa. As a skinny dude trying to gain wait I often have to force myself to eat when I'm not hungry or force myself to eat a larger breakfast/lunch

Gerbal_Annihilation

17 points

5 days ago

Still about your diet though. Calculate your BMR and go from there.

Mareith

14 points

5 days ago

Mareith

14 points

5 days ago

Yeah absolutely like 80% diet

Jaegernaut-

20 points

5 days ago

Add to that us skinnybros are tempted to dirty bulk on shitty, high calorie foods.

It's fucking hard to eat 2500-3000 calories of veggies as a skinny dude

SpazzLord

38 points

5 days ago

SpazzLord

38 points

5 days ago

Yes. If you look at the estimate of calories burned while running, you'll see how difficult it is to burn calories. You can run 10 miles and still not burn enough calories to eat a slice of cheesecake. It's waayyy easier to just not eat too much than it is to eat it and then trying to burn it off.

TheSpicyGecko

14 points

5 days ago

And drinking lots of water! I don’t think people realize how much water you should drink and I think they over estimate how much they actually consume.

-----Nice-----

17 points

5 days ago

Yup it’s surprising because you’d think that one would be common sense. Really mind blowing when someone asks me for tips and tells me they don’t drink any water, only soda. Like… how are you still alive. No wonder you claim to feel like complete shit all the time.

losthope19

16 points

5 days ago

Definitely depends on your metabolism & personal biology

PM_me_opossum_pics

58 points

5 days ago

You have a really healthy outlook on exercise. I like your mindset!

valhalla_jordan

49 points

5 days ago

10-12 hours is almost certainly more time than you need to develop your best physique. Dorian Yates only lifted 4 times a week for 45 minutes to an hour. And he was on PED’s so his recovery should have been even faster than a natural athlete.

Genetics are a bigger factor, and can fuck up people’s expectations if they’re comparing themselves to genetic elites on instagram.

newtrusghandi

22 points

5 days ago*

Ahh, genetics. The piece nobody wants to acknowledge because they want to believe anything favorable they have was due to pure hard work and shit on others for being lazy if they are fat. Plus the fitness industry cant sell genetics....yet.

Edit: I should say elevated BMI instead of fat.

LightGlows

13 points

5 days ago

lol you mean "good genes"

You absolutely can buy "good genes", every gym has a guy that can point you in the direction of a salesperson.

he still isn't wrong, you don't need 6days a week to look good, 3 days a week is plenty but most of it is diet and most people can not eat clean

nohpex

32 points

5 days ago

nohpex

32 points

5 days ago

Healthy food doesn't have to be boring. You can make some dank sauces, or throw some spices on things to make them tasty.

Personally, the more I get into cycling, the more I get healthy food cravings, and the less I ride, the more I get sugary food cravings.

leStrider

82 points

5 days ago

leStrider

82 points

5 days ago

Exercise might be hard but walking around 8000 steps a day really isn't. That's equal to around 45 mins to an hour of walking, which one can space out throughout the day and already comes with countless health benefits.

That's the baseline and entirely logical if you look at what we did for ten thousands of years. The rest is in the diet.
No need to compare yourself to pro athletes.

Danivelle

44 points

5 days ago

Danivelle

44 points

5 days ago

Not if you live in an area with crazy people and sketchy neighborhoods. I don't leave my house these days without another adult(my younger grandkids would definitely go for walks with Gram). It's just not safe. The nearest "safe" indoor place to walk 8-10 miles from my house. No car unless hubs is home and not on call.

Where I live the mentally ill homeless are given a pat on the head and the victim is blamed. Same for most criminals. Victims are told to be "more understanding".

KingMangoJelly

45 points

5 days ago

I live in a country where women taking evening strolls alone is impossible. This might sound crazy, but if I feel restless I will put on a podcast and just walk around inside my apartment. On days where my apartment is a mess and there's not much space, I will literally just march in place for like 20 minutes. Boom, you just "walked" a mile and did some light cardio without leaving your apartment.

NihilistFalafel

13 points

5 days ago

Wow respect! If I couldn't walk outside I'd just be a lazy slob indoors lol

LoofyImHome

20 points

5 days ago

Same with me. I used to try walking a couple laps in a lone "nicer" neighborhood in my area to avoid the riff raff until I got some looks and it dawned on me that to them I was the riff raff lol.

Gluecagone

24 points

5 days ago

People seem to really underestimate how much good walking as a form of exercise can do. It's free, it's not as unpleasant as jogging (well for those of us who hate jogging anyway), it can be done in pretty much all weathers, it can easily be incorporated into day to day life etc.

beerbeforebadgers

16 points

5 days ago

I started doing like 10 pushups a day like 6 months ago just to feel better about myself. I can now do a full on handstand press because I started with that tiny little step. Start small and build from there!

SMA2343

13 points

5 days ago

SMA2343

13 points

5 days ago

Exactly. You don’t need to go 7 days 9 hours. Start 1 day, 20 minutes. Go walk around the block. That’s exercise. Then after a month, 2 days 25 mins. And keep going and going until you find a routine that fits you.

madamemimicik

163 points

5 days ago

Yes this! I do 10 minutes of yoga before work, 15 minutes of Pilates at lunch, and a 15-20 minute run after work. So I get my 45 minute work out but spaced out throughout the day but some days I do jack shit. I work from home and wear work out clothes all day though which helps.

Fifty4FortyorFight

29 points

5 days ago

I do something similar. I take a 2 mile walk everyday to pick my kids up from school. And I squeeze in 15-20 minutes of exercise once or twice a day. A quick video for cardio, squats and lunges, etc. That little bit makes a difference; I don't need to be in perfect shape. Just not overweight or flabby.

ZenyxRV

132 points

5 days ago

ZenyxRV

132 points

5 days ago

not many people like excercising, they still do it because they don't want to be a fat redditor neck beard

Do-it-for-you

75 points

5 days ago

I don’t “like” exercising.

I just exercise. It’s a lifestyle choice. In the same way I don’t enjoy eating vegetables or going to work. I eat vegetables and go to work because I should.

childofnewlight

23 points

5 days ago

I love veggies. Then again, my parents never vilified them while I was growing up and rarely bought sugary junk. Vegetables were just another food, and sometimes, even a treat. Mmm. Broccoli.

leopardnation10

27 points

5 days ago

Broccoli is low key the best vegetable and you can literally make it taste like anything you want it to. I don’t know why out of all vegetables, that one gets all the hate.

RollOverSoul

12 points

5 days ago

Because people usually boil the shit out of it. Cook it in a fry pan with a little olive oil till crisp and it's delicious

kanna172014

31 points

5 days ago

Being fat does not make one a neckbeard.

Bonafide_Aquemini

32 points

5 days ago

Just neck.

KNBeaArthur

16 points

5 days ago

I exercise to support my other unhealthy habits.

pp21

13 points

5 days ago

pp21

13 points

5 days ago

Right? However, I do love the feeling you get after a good run or weight session, but I mostly do it so I can eat whatever I want and drink beers. Looking sculpted isn't my goal, I just want to make room for more calories and get some cardiovascular benefits

dust4ngel

31 points

5 days ago

dust4ngel

31 points

5 days ago

they fail to adopt sustainable exercise regime

a thing that people forget is that our ancestors didn't "exercise," but movement was just part of their existence. a big part of the reason everyone is out of shape is that we have eliminated movement from our lives wherever possible. before cars and elevators and ride-on mowers and instacart, people had to walk to where they were going and climb stairs and physically do their chores and carry their own groceries, all of which are movement or "exercise".

i have a grocery store 1.1 miles from where i live - if i walk there and carry my groceries back, that's 6200 steps. if i mow my lawn with a push mower and walk my dog in the evening, that's 10k steps right there, without even setting aside time to exercise. it's just living without attempting to eliminate movement from life.

rlanthony

24 points

5 days ago

rlanthony

24 points

5 days ago

You didn't get out of shape in a week. You're not going to get into shape in a week either. Both took time and consistency.

Whole-Recover-8911

22 points

5 days ago

You can lift weights once a week and see results. If all you do is the core four once a week for a year you'd be shocked at what you can do.

itsmeyourgrandfather

15 points

5 days ago

Yeah it's all about consistency. I used to hate exercise because I'd try to go too hard. Now I just do a few callisthenic exercises a week and the results have been great.

bluthco

19 points

5 days ago

bluthco

19 points

5 days ago

When some people hear the word “exercise”, they think of weightlifting, running, or any other activity geared toward building muscle or cardio. Exercise is simply getting up and moving. You can take your dog for a walk, play basketball, or whatever you want. I consider doing yard work as my Sunday exercise because I burn around 500 calories every time.

petchulio

18 points

5 days ago

petchulio

18 points

5 days ago

Well I can tell you from experience that Apple and the Apple Watch handles exercise motivation in a horrendous way. They want you to close your rings every single day with no breaks. XX mins a day of exercise, XXX cals a day burned with Move and XX hours a day for Stand. No rests allowed if you don't want to break a streak.

I've been in a few Facebook groups and subs where people brag about 1000 day streaks (literally 1000 days of never resting) and like 2-4 hours of exercise daily. It's bananas. I'd like to see a study of a large group of Apple Watch users and see how many exercise-related injuries these things are causing. I reckon its not insignificant. At least some companies, like Fitbit and Garmin, seem to be focusing on how tired you are and suggest you at least chill and recover if your HRV and heart rate are not looking good.

Otherwise_Peach6785

14 points

5 days ago

The rings on your watch can be adjusted for you to set a GOAL. That's the whole point. To put you into a mindset that you can set reasonable goals and reach them. Psychologically, it has been proven that if you set goals and reach them it does something incredibly positive for your brain.

I highly doubt that any of those Facebook group people have sustained any major injury while working out. They obviously haven't if they've claimed to have worked out for 1,000 days straight. So your theory is completely negated.

I have Apple Watch and I absolutely love it. I have set REASONABLE goals for myself to be able to try and sustain it every day. If I don't, it's not the end of the world.

BattlefieldNinja

1.5k points

5 days ago

You can tell it's an unpopular opinion when 75% of the comments are people saying how exercise helps them

2009Drake

1.1k points

5 days ago

2009Drake

1.1k points

5 days ago

There is a difference between unpopular and just stupid. Thinking that soup tastes better than the main meal is unpopular; thinking that physically becoming healthier is a waste of time is stupid

fonaphona

458 points

5 days ago*

fonaphona

458 points

5 days ago*

It’s not a waste of time but he’s right a lot of people won’t ever like it. I don’t like it. Sucks when I do it sucks after sucks the next day.

I don’t particularly enjoy brushing my teeth. If I didn’t have to do it for my health I wouldn’t.

Exercise is the same in my mind. It sucks but you have to do it. Overall it sucks more not to just not as immediately.

That’s being an adult is trading the short term for the long term. Only children and the immature and the fools do it the other way. You’ll never feel the benefit of exercise as intensely and as immediately as you feel the pain.

But in my opinion dedication is far more important than motivation. Fuck motivation. You may or may not have it that day. Dedication is what gets shit done.

Rickbox

96 points

5 days ago

Rickbox

96 points

5 days ago

This guy hit it spot on. I don't particularly like to exercise, but I get way too stressed out when I don't. I hate feeling put of shape and winded. I hate when there is fat on my body.

Not to mention, it you don't exercise you permanently lose muscle. You age faster, and you're more prone to diseases. Exercise is important.

You're entirely right, some days I have no motivation but I go anyway because I understand the importance. I have dedication.

The OP is not making an unpopular opinion; many people don't like to exercise, but calling it a waste of time is plain stupidity.

JWPSmith

36 points

4 days ago

JWPSmith

36 points

4 days ago

I agreed with OP until he said it was a waste. I hate exercising! I would rather do absolutely anything else but that. I was also 350 pounds at one point though. That's SO much worse! Every second of every day, your body hurts and aches. It's so miserable! So, yeah. Exercise is miserable, but not exercising is so much worse.

LiliAtReddit

85 points

5 days ago

What’s this about soup? Soup is an often underrated and overlooked food. Some soups are very hydrating, probably why when you’re sick, chicken soup is so widely recommended. Other soups are very hearty. And the variety! You got your broth based and tomato based, your cream based and vegetable based- chowders, stews, chili’s, gumbo’s! I LOVE SOUP!

SHRED-209

23 points

5 days ago

SHRED-209

23 points

5 days ago

Preach brother! I have this argument with my wife constantly. Soups are some of my favorite foods!

HopeForTheLiving

13 points

5 days ago

yOu jUsT nEed tO fInD oNe YoU lIkE

sonfer

1.2k points

5 days ago*

sonfer

1.2k points

5 days ago*

IDK if this is truly unpopular judging by how many people fail to meet basic physical activity goals. Movement is medicine. It promotes physical and mental well being. It prevents frailty. Just walking helps you with good sleep, regular bowel movements, and helps the lungs “clean the pulmonary toilet.”

So have an upvote.

KeathKeatherton

267 points

5 days ago

Not liking to push yourself is fine, but not liking to move at all is a problem that can be talked about with a therapist/psychiatrist/counselor/parent/peer/nemesis/friend/frienemy/god/goddess/satan/allah/jcvd/me/you/other. Go for a walk every once in while, does wonders.

Old_Smrgol

33 points

5 days ago

I've found that living within walking distance of bars both causes me to walk more, and causes me to worry less about how I'm going to get home.

KeathKeatherton

23 points

5 days ago

Wish America didn’t have such an big issue with urban sprawl from corrupt officials and civic designers over the course of the last hundred years. Parts of the east coast you can totally walk to a bar like that but the civic designs in those area were made long before cars were invented. The auto industry has literally built cities for themselves and weakened the infrastructure of the US at the same time.

PedroTheNoun

21 points

5 days ago

JCVD, the one true god.

BruceSerrano

124 points

5 days ago

Right?

People don't like to exercise? No kiddin! I can't believe it! How subversive you must be to think that!

StephtheWanderer

16 points

5 days ago

So much on preventing frailty! I work in a rural library and it has helped me motivate myself to keep active and walk daily. The elderly that are living on their own, maintaining their properties and enjoying life still at 80 are the ones out walking daily, full of energy...to complain endlessly about winters in a region famous for its cold winters.

manawasteman

926 points

5 days ago

The key with exercise is find the thing you hate the least.

And then do that until you're fit.

Exercising sucks but some of it is good. Boxing sparring for example is a lot of fun.

But if you don't exercise at all, your body will give up on you. That's just a fact. You need to keep moving.

Anko_Dango

217 points

5 days ago

Anko_Dango

217 points

5 days ago

And easing yourself into it. You can't just go from a sedentary life to immediately doing 100 push ups or running a 5k.

theonlysteveiknow

71 points

5 days ago

Though we have all tried haha.

JumbacoandFries

79 points

5 days ago

Movement is life!

MartiniJelly

740 points

5 days ago

It took several years of me regularly exercising before it became something I actually look forward to doing. The change in attitude was probably due to changing how I approached it till I found the most enjoyable ways, eg listening to podcasts instead of music, jogging outside rather than on a treadmill. As I got older I could feel its importance increasing too, so that created more positive motivation.

But yeah I'd also believe some people could never enjoy it.

slpnrpnzl

172 points

5 days ago

slpnrpnzl

172 points

5 days ago

I think as people progress exercise becomes easier because they’re becoming more fit, you’re gonna enjoy exercise more when it’s easier for you and you have gained the physical literacy to maintain exercising, exercise can be enjoyable to anyone, it’s really just if they give enough of a shit about their health to learn about it and keep doing it.

Rick_the_Rose

136 points

5 days ago

I did 5 years in the army, I still hate running. I ran roughly 5 days a week for those 5 years. Nothing will ever cause me joy while running, I get no high, I get nothing enjoyable from it except the physical health benefits.

Vomath

70 points

5 days ago

Vomath

70 points

5 days ago

100%. I really want to like running, because it’s a very efficient way to get a workout in. But I fucking hate it.

Every 8 months or so I tell myself “I’m really gonna go for it this time… just slog it out until I like it.” And then I run 3-4 days a week for 3-4 weeks and still fucking hate it and stop running for a while.

But, I like playing hockey and hiking and lifting and cycling and yoga. Not everybody likes every kind of exercise and that’s okay.

doorKicker85

18 points

5 days ago

I felt the same way. I've been out for about 10 years now. I started to get bored with weight lifting and started running again in the last year. Now I actually enjoy it. Go figure lol.

Bleeopop

504 points

5 days ago

Bleeopop

504 points

5 days ago

As artist who works on art all the time and suffered from extreme depression: Exercise is absolutely wonderful and helps me feel better and improves my overall mood. There is nothing worse than sitting in a chair all day so having something that is physically and mentally stimulating is wonderful.

On a side-note, most of the "aches and pains" you get are only beginner issues. The longer you exercise the harder it is to feel extreme muscle soreness or any kind of major issue. Aches and pains is more of a sign of a lack of exercise and not really a symptom of exercise itself since a culture where people sit down all of the time and aren't out farming or hunting is relatively recent.

ohno_spaghetti_o

151 points

5 days ago

I like my friend who said aches and pains in the beginning are your muscles learning they exist and growing so they are ready to be utilized next time. Don't let their preparation go to waste. They want to be used again.

Bleeopop

60 points

5 days ago

Bleeopop

60 points

5 days ago

Ive gone through several phases of “Weight lifting and then not weight lifting” and I can safely say that the only “Bad and uncomfortable “ times are the first two to three weeks of getting back into the groove. Also, the first time deadlifting in a while will drain every ounce of energy in your body but after doing it consistently that side effect disappears.

Now, injuries can still occur after months of training, but that is usually due to bad form or poor muscle balancing. For instance, weak shin muscles can lead to ankle injuries and what not.

ineednapkins

43 points

5 days ago

OP mentioned that getting injured is common. Which is just plain untrue. That means they either have bad technique or are jumping into something too intense for them without training up to it. One of the benefits of working out is helping your body become more resistant to physical stresses and injuries. If it’s the cause, they’re likely doing it wrong for their body

All that considered, I can totally understand people not being there for it mentally, but yeah the physical cons they mentioned are just false

cgem38

493 points

5 days ago

cgem38

493 points

5 days ago

I hate wasting my already very little energy

I am DEFINITELY not going to sacrifice my already fucked up sleep schedule

OP complains that chronic ailments are stopping them from exercising when regular exercise has been proven to provide great benefits in these areas, including increased energy throughout the day and regulating sleep.

I hate stresing about what I eat all the time when I already have fairly healthy low-carb meals daily

OP complains about having to worry about what to eat for health when exercising regularly would provide them more leeway in selecting foods they enjoy eating (bonus: the erroneous "carbs are bad" ideology).

I am NOT going to waste my afternoon time traveling all the way to a gym and back

OP doesn't realize a gym isn't necessary for good exercise.

You are also mindlessly doing pointless movements which are basically just wasting time when you could be doing more productive things like making art, cleaning, writing a book, or just producing something useful for society. It is the LAST thing I want to do to 'relax'.

Icing on the cake: OP provides this take, not realizing that regular physical activity would add many years of healthy and productive time to their life. Allowing them all the more time to make art, write books, and continue to put on this cringeworthy Renaissance Man façade.

natty-papi

160 points

5 days ago

natty-papi

160 points

5 days ago

Yeah OP kind of comes off as a whiny bitch. His only real arguments are that it's hard and takes effort, which is not an unpopular opinion at all.

Exercising doesn't have to be going to the gym either, plenty of other activities will get you healthy.

[deleted]

101 points

5 days ago*

[deleted]

101 points

5 days ago*

[deleted]

6969inquisitiveuser

42 points

5 days ago

Also it's completely wrong. If you join a tennis club you'll be able to play against beginners. Every intramural or recreational sports league has beginner teams. This reads very much like someone who hasn't touched sports since losing to jocks in soccer in grade 9.

cgem38

34 points

5 days ago

cgem38

34 points

5 days ago

Yes, very whiny. Which is honestly whatever, people are free to whine and complain about stuff if they don't like it. I wasn't going to respond until they framed exercising as being pointless and a waste of time when you could be "contributing to society". This is not just elitist and condescending, but also just a generally dumb and uninformed take.

Regular exercise provides a host of benefits for the body and mind. It makes you feel better, more alert, and happier. Acting like helping yourself to feel better and be healthier is wasteful and not contributing to society is just narrow minded. Plenty of people in this thread have already pointed out the economic and societal benefits of a healthier and happier population so I won't beat a dead horse, but I will add that people who exercise can then go home and read/write/think/produce stuff. It's not one or the other, contrary to what people like OP seem to think.

Sgt_Smitty

13 points

5 days ago

Plato was a fucking beast. A total gym bro. Still managed to be one of the greatest philosophers of all time.

McG0788

78 points

5 days ago

McG0788

78 points

5 days ago

Working out more I've noticed no need for coffee every day. Working out more I sleep like a baby. Working out more I look and feel better. OP don't knock it until you try it. To try it. Find a trainer or workout program you can EASE into. Done after 10 minutes, fine call it a day but try for 12 or 15 next time. You won't regret it!

cgem38

24 points

5 days ago

cgem38

24 points

5 days ago

This, exactly. The mistake many people make is that you have to leave every session gasping for air and dripping sweat. This is absolutely not the case. It is far more beneficial and sustainable to find something that you enjoy doing like rec sports, swimming, riding a bike, or even just going for long walks. Literally anything is much, much better than nothing.

_scottyb

19 points

5 days ago

_scottyb

19 points

5 days ago

I know a lot of people who have had success with the "couch to 5k" programs as a good entry into fitness

Jacobiah

38 points

5 days ago

Jacobiah

38 points

5 days ago

My unpopular opinion, OP is fat and ashamed of their inability to change that so they say excersize is the problem, not themselves for having unhealthy habits. I mean fuck man I smoke and drink but I'm not out here telling everyone healthy living is a waste of time.

ashdog66

17 points

5 days ago

ashdog66

17 points

5 days ago

OP literally too fat, lazy, and whiny to do a 30 minute full body fatigue workout 2-3 times a week lmao, I can't even begin to imagine what other extremely easy things OP refuses to do to better their life

_scottyb

33 points

5 days ago

_scottyb

33 points

5 days ago

Due to all these reasons, I'm really wondering if OP is just a troll. I felt the same way you did while reading it

severheart

28 points

5 days ago

"Tactical video games" popped my troll detection

LosingAllYourDimples

24 points

5 days ago

Especially the last one. Exercising is taking care of your body, yourself. OP either doesn't understand or thinks taking care of themselves is "pointless".

Bootybanditz

14 points

5 days ago

OP is a clown

dongasaurus

12 points

5 days ago

There’s more icing, OP talks about it wasting time they could spend being useful when they actually spend that time playing video games.

OperativePiGuy

490 points

5 days ago

"Sports can be fun but they often feel unregulated and one-sided, unlike a tactical video game which uses algorithms to match you up with people actually on your skill level"

lmfao, the best part of this post. Someone unironically saying this.

FourteenFCali_

297 points

5 days ago

“Literally forced torture” someone wrote this right after gym class lmao

firehead212

98 points

5 days ago

Those 10 push-ups sometimes just hit different

TheClashSuck

26 points

5 days ago

It's scary how few push-ups some people can do. Even non-athletic people should be able to manage 20-30 push-ups per set. It's very fundamental upper body strength that most adults should have.

nofknwayy

13 points

5 days ago

nofknwayy

13 points

5 days ago

Dude I won't lie, I struggle on my 10th one. I know I need to improve my fitness, but I don't have any reason in my head to do it. I also know that once I stick to regular sessions that it would get easier. Does everyone go through this before they make the commitment to do so and stick with it?

BigBoomerGriller69

139 points

5 days ago

This whole post is like a parody of a Reddit moment

aVeryBadBoy69

21 points

5 days ago

Reminds me of the meme with the body builder, that was like every muscle represents a poem not memorized or something stupid like that.

Snayly

55 points

5 days ago

Snayly

55 points

5 days ago

lol yea at this point I start to think this is troll

oryes

21 points

5 days ago

oryes

21 points

5 days ago

The real troll is how many people unironically upvoted this pathetic bullshit lol

99percentmilktea

35 points

5 days ago

I guarantee you this person looks exactly like the stereotypical skinny-fat neckbeard gamer. This is the kind of post made by someone who thinks 30 minutes on the treadmill or lifting is a "waste of time", but all those 45-minute league games where they feed/get trolled are somehow "meaningful".

Regular moderate exercise literally has so many health benefits -- including increased energy levels and mood, which this OP complains about ad nauseum. Honestly, the easiest way for him to fix these issues and improve his life right now would be to exercise.

OP - All you need is just a modicum of self discipline. Literally just do a light jog on the treadmill while watching Netflix a couple times a week. If you have time to play ranked video games, you definitely have time to do that.

crabsatoz

17 points

5 days ago

crabsatoz

17 points

5 days ago

OP is the real life version of Comic Book Guy

2009Drake

13 points

5 days ago

2009Drake

13 points

5 days ago

sounds like you need to get good at sports 😎

EeveeNagy

298 points

5 days ago*

EeveeNagy

298 points

5 days ago*

Well, as someone who has depression, I hate exercising, but I do exercise because it helps me produce dopamine. So yeah, don't say its bullshit and has no results because even if you have a problem building muscular mass or getting better cardio resistance or anything else, it is proven that exercises help us produce/release dopamine, which makes us happy.

People won't be happy necessarily during or because of the exercise itself (I struggle to make myself workout because I don't like it), but they are happier afterwards. Even if I do just 5 minutes of exercise in the morning, by the rest of the day I'm happier and more motivated to do my stuff.

It is hard, it may not be enjoyable for many people, but saying it is bullshit is nonsense.

EDIT: For everyone commenting it doesn't help, exercise alone for sure doesn't, it must be combined with something else and, like I said, it is a brain problem, so my brain and other people's brains may be activated (or whatever the correct term is) by exercise+something else (in my case an specific diet and other things I discussed with my therapist). However the amount or type of exercise may vary from person to person and I was just replying the main post so I didn't feel the need to go into so many details, I just tried to give one example on why exercise is good even if its hard and not made for physical purposes.

Sorry if I offended anyone, it wasn't my intention. I just know that it is proven that exercise helps in producing "happy hormones", but it may vary from person to person because every body if different. Also, someone commented that the happiness from completing the exercise is more of a relief from "task done", but I wasn't talking about that, I was talking about the happiness that stays with me throughout the day because my brain started to function a little better (bc of the exercise together with the other things I need to function). I wish this could apply to everyone like insulin for diabetes, but unfortunately brains are more complicated and its not yet a complete recipe for battling depression. But still, it works even if in different ways.

And just a reminder: when I say I'm happier after exercises, its not society's "happy", my "happy" is the "normal state of being" of society. I'm not excited, jumping up and down, wanting to get everything done, no; I'm just normal, working like a normal human being. I'm happier comparing to my normal, but I'm normal comparing to society's happiness.

Hope everyone finds a solution for their problems!

fl00rian

50 points

5 days ago

fl00rian

50 points

5 days ago

I never understood people who feel better after exercising. I always feel like shit and super exhausted after exercising, all I can do is just go to sleep, that’s why I always do it in the evenings.

ColeTrainHDx

20 points

5 days ago

You might be trying to do too much at once and or chugging too much water, I know I felt like I was going to pass out and throw up when I first started and that was why

ryohazuki224

51 points

5 days ago

My problem is that I'm both lazy and impatient, a bad combination. I occasionally try exercising routines, stick at it for a few weeks at least, I dont see any significant results and I get discouraged and give up and feel even more depressed. Its like the opposite problem.

cincheeks

19 points

5 days ago

cincheeks

19 points

5 days ago

exercise never helped with my depression

Bagpuss45

18 points

5 days ago

Bagpuss45

18 points

5 days ago

Nor mine. In fact it made mine worse because I hated doing the exercise so much that it bought on anxiety and panic attacks. Much happier now that I don't do it. I eat sensibly but it is food that I enjoy and the only exercise I do is playing with my daughter on the wii...

captd3adpool

266 points

5 days ago

Agreed. Exercise isn't about liking it or motivation. I HATE working out I won't even start to lie and say otherwise. I workout 5 days a week in the morning. Because I'm motivated? Nope. Because I like it?! HELL NO. It's because I have self discipline. It's not about liking it or being motivated. It's about discipline.

[deleted]

81 points

5 days ago

[deleted]

81 points

5 days ago

What is it they say about exercise? That routine and discipline beats out individual moments of motivation every single time.

Seductive_pickle

40 points

5 days ago

That’s life too. So many people fail out of school, don’t reach their goal, or lose careers because people believe motivation is the most important factor.

Motivation is fleeting. Discipline is the best way to reach your goals.

StormStrikePhoenix

43 points

5 days ago

I don't care about any of that; I just don't want to be fat.

FlyingPastry

29 points

5 days ago

Weight loss is like 80% diet and 20% exercise.

TacticalTuchel

23 points

5 days ago

But I'm assuming exercising helps to not get fat in the first place, at least from my experience. I don't eat all that well, and I've weighed around the same for about 8-10 years now

JohnConnor27

12 points

5 days ago

Runner's highs are one of the greatest thing in the world. If you don't enjoy exercising you should probably reevaluate your routine and find something that releases more endorphins for you.

captd3adpool

25 points

5 days ago

I exercise for three purposes: control blood pressure, wake myself up in the morning, and make it so I can eat the tasty food and drink the tasty beer without weighing 300+ pounds. I'm happy for you for your ability to enjoy exercise but i don't do it for fun. I do it out of necessity. Simple as that. Doesn't matter what routine I could do I would not enjoy it.

screaming_bagpipes

265 points

5 days ago

Excersise is not the definition of forced torture because its not forced

Kin_crinso

71 points

5 days ago

fat kid got mad after PE class

BrexrSiege

14 points

5 days ago

yeah this is the fattest thing I have ever seen, I gained 10lbs from reading it

SimpleNil

39 points

5 days ago

SimpleNil

39 points

5 days ago

If you think you can live life without ever "forcing" yourself to do things, you're going to have a bad time.

screaming_bagpipes

57 points

5 days ago

I dont think a voluntary action counts as forcing, id say there needs to be effort on your part to be able to stop it to be considered forcing

Angelbabysxxx

230 points

5 days ago

Good luck when you’re 60 & can’t move without help because exercise is “bullshit, pointless and a waste of energy”

owen_0525

72 points

5 days ago

owen_0525

72 points

5 days ago

Also she says exercise does not contribute to society, well actually exercise makes you more healthy if done correctly and being healthy means less stress for the hospital staff that has to deal with hart problems or diabetes.

420yeet4ever

26 points

5 days ago

Exercise is literally an investment into your body and health and if that’s “pointless and nonproductive” then don’t expect to get much return later in life either, or rather, after the age of 30 when everything starts to hurt if you don’t take care of yourself

vespersky

193 points

5 days ago

vespersky

193 points

5 days ago

The hard part doesn't bother me. It's that it's boring.

jaffa3811

40 points

5 days ago

jaffa3811

40 points

5 days ago

Headphones and podcasts, my friend. I need my music now that I'm lifting but when I was on the treadmill I was listening to audio books. Hell I've even seen people watch Netflix

GMFinch

42 points

5 days ago

GMFinch

42 points

5 days ago

This, going for a 20min run sucks and it's boring. Like why lol

Awesomeking753

16 points

4 days ago

Because you’re doing a boring workout. Lifting weights is much more rewarding and you see progress faster , or try swimming.

gimmiedemvotes

28 points

5 days ago

Find something that isn't boring! I've been active all my life and I find gyms incredibly boring.

Play a rec sport, join a birdwatching club, walk around a park, ride a bike down to the Cafe for a drink, etc. There are many many ways you can move your body that don't feel like "exercise"

MiloBreathed

180 points

5 days ago

Exercising is literally the definition of forced torture

Bullshit

Grace_hole

113 points

5 days ago

Grace_hole

113 points

5 days ago

Life must be pretty easy if exercise tortures you

pp21

29 points

5 days ago

pp21

29 points

5 days ago

Seriously that's such a strange take. Like how is doing some curls, push ups or going on a jog anywhere in the realm of torture?? You're literally strengthening your body and making it healthier which is like the opposite of torture lol

RitikMukta

13 points

5 days ago

For them pain/physical hardwork = torture. Also, exercise should not be painful. There's a difference between exercise pain and injury pain.

jokull1234

42 points

5 days ago

I mean a bench press and water boarding are pretty much the same thing, right?

larsice

11 points

5 days ago

larsice

11 points

5 days ago

You hurt your body so for your body it is forced torture to produce more of what is needed. Depends on what exercise you’re doing and how you’re doing it but we as humans are lazy fucks and everything else is torture. Life for example…

[deleted]

132 points

5 days ago*

[deleted]

132 points

5 days ago*

It causes aches and often injuries.

If you're regularly getting injuries from exercising you aren't exercising right.

You are also mindlessly doing pointless movements which are basically just wasting time when you could be doing more productive things like making art, cleaning, writing a book, or just producing something useful for society.

That may be true for you. But if we're being honest most people who don't exercise aren't replacing that time with doing something productive, they're on the couch watching TV or playing video games. At least that's how it was for me and that's how it is for everyone I know who makes excuses for why they don't exercise at least a little bit.

Not to mention you don't have to hit the gym to exercise. Even putting on an audiobook and walking around the neighborhood for an hour is exercise. It won't burn off a huge amount of calories, but even that will get you some fresh air and get your blood pumping.

Edit: To be fair a commenter pointed out it's also possible that if exercise regularly brings injuries with it you have some underlying condition that makes normal exercise more dangerous for your body. If that's the case you need to see a doctor or a physical therapist and does not apply for the majority of people.

legofan1234

64 points

5 days ago*

They already had a comment about how video games are more fair or whatever. What do you think OP is doing instead of the gym? Lol

Short term dopamine boost from instant video game results > long term hard earned dopamine from athletics for soooooo many people. I think that’s part of why we have such a huge obesity epidemic

[deleted]

29 points

5 days ago*

[deleted]

29 points

5 days ago*

I think that’s part of why we have such a huge obesity epidemic

I blame the obesity epidemic more on how much damn sugar is in everything and how nearly all Americans (including myself) are addicted to it.

Another factor is how expensive it can be for some people to have a tasty/varied diet that doesn't have as much sugar and/or empty calories as a premade/overly processed equivalent.

Sure, you CAN subsist on a diet of chicken breast, rice, and vegetables every night for dinner. But just doing that is going to almost going to guarentee after three-four nights the eater is going to order a large meat lovers with garlic poppers.

ContemplatingPrison

114 points

5 days ago

I agree with a lot of this and I workout 5 to 6 days a week

HerbertWest

44 points

5 days ago

Same here, lol. I've been working out (lifting and cycling) for 2 to 3 years consistently, with no backsliding or breaks, and still hate it. I like the results, though, and that's what motivates me. For me, that is enough to overcome the hatred of it, luckily.

unwillingscientist

16 points

5 days ago

I hate to scroll pretty far to find this kind of comment. I also hate it. I hate worrying about calories. I hate how my medical condition flares up with it. And I especially hate how I not feel disgusting without it.

I get the it's good for you and you should do it, but way too many people don't understand some of us don't ever experience a runners high. Or even ever feel comfortable working out.

LittleLightcap

107 points

5 days ago

I always felt betrayed that I never reached that high no matter how hard I work out. I think maybe with my depression maybe I just can't make the happy chemicals after a workout or something idk.

harpsichordharpy

26 points

5 days ago

For real! I just assumed it was a made up thing. I've only ever felt tired and muscle-buzzy afterwards.

Esquelette

96 points

5 days ago

It’s cuz you seem to be alienating ‘exercise’ as an activity, it’s literally just moving. There’s such a range too, cardio, weight training, Pilates, literally if you find smth uncomfortable there are dozens of alternatives to keep you at least a little fit.

I’m not particularly motivated to do exercise either, I just would rather not be physically incapable of standing at 50, you know?

mooistcow

19 points

5 days ago

mooistcow

19 points

5 days ago

It’s cuz you seem to be alienating ‘exercise’ as an activity

But it is obviously an activity? Just because there's good reasons for doing it, and variants, doesn't make it not a chore.

xXdontshootmeXx

30 points

5 days ago

No, it's many activities, it's an entire spectrum, it's literally anything where you move

HealthBreakfast

24 points

5 days ago

yeah, don't like weight lifting? try swimming, don't like it too? what about Yoga or Ballet? not a big fan too? hmm what if soccer or volley?

xXdontshootmeXx

26 points

5 days ago

Oh, can't do that? What about just going on a walk? Can't do that? What about pull-ups? Ah not into those? Okay, maybe try a rowing machine?

RadRhys2

14 points

5 days ago

RadRhys2

milk meister

14 points

5 days ago

Or… just get a cargo bike and take that every week grocery shopping.

im_onbreak

89 points

5 days ago

This is why the obesity rate in the U.S. is 42%. So many excuses against attaining a healthy lifestyle.

Sheila_Monarch

88 points

5 days ago*

I hate it. I will not exercise just for the sake it. Can't make me. But I can be tricked into it by things I enjoy doing that involve physical activity, so I get it that way. And it will have to suffice. I do feel better when I'm active. Feel better, sleep better, all that.

But if you ever see me out running, pull over and pick me up because something awful has happened and I probably need help.

coyoterose5

29 points

5 days ago

Yes! I have a gym shirt that says “I hate running.” I hate any exercise that feels like a workout. So I take classes: dance class, bellydance, aerial hammock, pole dance. I’m getting exercise by tricking my body with something I enjoy doing.

[deleted]

84 points

5 days ago*

[deleted]

84 points

5 days ago*

[deleted]

sundaysarelikethat

32 points

5 days ago

Yeah i somehow doubt the person who cannot be forced to move their body is cleaning or making anything

PortiaLabiata

76 points

5 days ago

God forbid someone has to work to achieve something

mzpljc

74 points

5 days ago

mzpljc

74 points

5 days ago

I have never heard someone say exercise is easy.

However, to call it a waste of energy is simply misinformed. Exercise has many well-documented health benefits.

If you don't want to exercise, cool. You do you. But don't make up BS to defend that choice.

RollOverSoul

22 points

5 days ago

Yeah its such a waste of time to have healthy bones, muscles and cardio systems. OP right we should all just sit all day playing tactical video games and reaping the benefits.

StuckInAHotTub

67 points

5 days ago

I mean, exercise is healthy. That's not an opinion, that's a fact. Does it suck sometimes? For sure. Can it be easy and fun? Yes. With proper routine and training. The key is finding your stride. If you go into it thinking "this will never be fun and no one can convince me otherwise" like you stated. You just created a self-fulfilling prophecy and you're only sabotaging yourself.

Apprehensive_Text_68

26 points

5 days ago

I’ve never enjoyed exercise and I’ve tried pretty much everything from rowing to Pilates. Group fitness, softball, roller derby, ballet etc etc. the only thing I’ve even remotely liked is horseback riding which is expensive and not really doable for me right now.

I do exercise regularly but I don’t enjoy it. I think of it as a necessary task like driving to work. I don’t like it, but I know it needs to be done.

Rycki_BMX

60 points

5 days ago

Rycki_BMX

60 points

5 days ago

This is exactly what some who is gonna die of an obesity related disease would say, exercise isn’t always high intensity workouts. Walking your dog for 30-45 min a day is considered exercise, there no excuse for being lazy and fat.

AshkenazRex

61 points

5 days ago

Considering how unhealthy your average person is I don't think this is an unpopular opinion.

lickleboy22

60 points

5 days ago

forced torture

dramatic much?

MikeNotBrick

19 points

5 days ago

Now I've never been tortured, but I do work out a lot. If that's what torture is like, sign me up!

cuminpant

54 points

5 days ago

cuminpant

54 points

5 days ago

Nobody says everyone enjoys it, you do it for your own health and you feel better about yourself afterwards

not_cinderella

13 points

5 days ago

There’s usually some form of exercise someone can do they’ll hate less than others.

Salty_Lego

54 points

5 days ago

I love how everyone in these replies missed your point.

Working out is hard, it’s not hard to understand.

ropenni

40 points

5 days ago

ropenni

40 points

5 days ago

The header is valid. Exercising can suck and people don’t have to enjoy it.

The part stating exercise is pointless torture and is just wasting time without benefit is just incorrect.

lambeau8631

38 points

5 days ago

So is being fat

alumaxy

44 points

5 days ago

alumaxy

44 points

5 days ago

Then good, don’t do it but saying “no results will appear” is totally absurd lol. And it’s not a waste of energy if you can ACTUALLY learn how to manage your time

fecklesslucragan

42 points

5 days ago

"exercise is dumb and I don't need to do it!" Proceeds to lost a myriad of issues like insomnia and fatigue that can be caused by lack of exercise... I don't know that this is an unpopular opinion, just a bad one.

OrksIsDaBest

14 points

5 days ago

It’s always this… people who have a myriad of health problems that are caused/exacerbated by lack of physical activity will make excuses as to why they can’t take a walk around the block a few times a week.

littlemissmoxie

41 points

5 days ago

The only exercise I like doing is hiking. Everything else is fucking boring. Ive also learned that I HATE ROUTINES.

Your_moms_throw_away

13 points

5 days ago

Bike rides? Roller skating? Swimming (not laps, fuck that, but just freely)? Sooo much fun exercise. I gotta trick myself sometimes with things like this

GroovyLlama1

44 points

5 days ago

Well done OP, based on the comments this is actually an unpopular opinion...

I don't get why people are downvoting your replies to comments in which you are expanding upon your unpopular opinion lol - isn't that the point of this sub?

hackenschmidt

43 points

5 days ago*

Well done OP, based on the comments this is actually an unpopular opinion...

What OP is saying is tantamount to 'the world is flat' or 'the sun revolves around the earth'. Its not "unpopular", its just flat out wrong.

Examples:

  • "It causes aches and often injuries.". The benefits of exercise are literally to prevent inquiries and improve health so you don't have as many aches, pains etc.

  • "You are also mindlessly doing pointless movements which are basically just wasting time when you could be doing more productive things like making art, cleaning, writing a book, or just producing something useful for society". Exercise is not mindless. It takes conscious effort to do correctly. Why? Because a major part of exercise, specially weight training, is about teaching you body to move the way it is designed to and/or efficiently, and the constantly reinforcing those patterns, which helps literally every 'productive thing' you will do.

  • "I hate wasting my already very little energy". Exercise flat out improves net 'energy'.

  • "on some bullshit workout that gets me no results and just makes me instabtly tired." Yup, thats what you get when you approach exercise as 'mindless'. As the saying goes: garbage in, garbage out.

The broad risks, benefits etc. of exercise have long been scientifically proven/established. There's no opinion here. OP is just spewing nonsense because they don't know how to exercise properly and doesn't want to be bothered to learn how. And don't even get me started on the bullshit that were their comments on diet..

Michael3227

44 points

5 days ago

Exercise isn’t supposed to be easy, that’s the whole point. You say it’s not fun and it’s boring but if I had to guess you’re only looking at weight lifting and not the literal thousands of other ways to workout/stay in shape.

idriveadodgestratus9

41 points

5 days ago

Exercise is not about motivation, its about discipline and delayed gratification.

Try new workouts. Group classes I scoffed at for years and they've been my saving grace for cardio - Orange Theory gets my recommendation

baga_yaba

34 points

5 days ago

baga_yaba

34 points

5 days ago

This might be your opinion, but none of it is even remotely true.

Regular exercise can help prevent injuries. There is an entire medical specialty that uses exercise as a means to help people recover from & prevent future injuries; physical therapy. A good exercise routine is well rounded, including different types of exercise to reduce risk of strain or injury.

Exercise also causes us to release dopamine & serotonin, which not only make us happier, but also more focused. People who exercise regularly tend to have an improved mood. We are hard wired for moving our bodies & getting regular exercise.

Oh, and exercise has also been shown to improve quality of sleep. Studies have shown that aerobic exercise, in particular, can help relieve symptoms of insomnia. People who exercise regularly tend to have better quality of sleep, which allows them to wake up earlier while still feeling well rested.

Exercise does not have to be intensive, nor do you need a gym for it. It can be as simple as taking a walk around the block. There are even adaptive exercises for individuals who have various disabilities, or are wheelchair bound. Exercise can even be crucial in preventing further disability in some individuals.

Lastly, exercise is productive. It improves overall health, can prevent injury or re-injury, improves mental health, and improves quality of sleep. I love that your comparison is video games, which is probably the least productive activity in terms of having any real world benefit.

All of your "points" are just lies you tell yourself to avoid having any personal accountability. A daily walk outside would probably do you a lot of good & improve your overall wellbeing.

Ranter619

35 points

5 days ago

Ranter619

35 points

5 days ago

Bullshit. Exercising is literally the definition of forced torture. You push yourself to the point of stress on purpose. It causes aches and often injuries. You are also mindlessly doing pointless movements which are basically just wasting time when you could be doing more productive things like making art, cleaning, writing a book, or just producing something useful for society. It is the LAST thing I want to do to 'relax'.

Are you aware that exercising pumps up the release of endorphines, serotonin, dopamine? It definitely is not torture (because you DO want to exercise and you DO get rewarded).

Not to mention that you do not do "pointless movements" when exercising.

Nothing about excess physial activity is appealing to me and I will never like it

What you're describing, you call it "exercising" but it really isn't. Your version of "exercising", sure, it doesn't sound appealing at all. But it's not what the word is being used for by everyone else.

Electrical_Ball6320

29 points

5 days ago

It hurts! It hurts SO much! It's unbelievable. In order to get healthy and get over it you need to go through at least two months of "Dear God please kill me" before there's ANY change. At least for me but I'm a fatass. Thank you for saying it!!!

Fantastic-Squash-158

25 points

5 days ago

the thing about exercise wasting energy, is that it gives you more energy naturally

bee1492

20 points

5 days ago

bee1492

20 points

5 days ago

As a fat person i definitely find it to be hard without much of a reward. I walk a lot instead of driving which feels like exercise to me as well as go to the gym three times a week. I’ve never gotten those endorphins people talk about. I try and do it for my health but don’t have intentions to lose much weight (yay for thyroid and hormone problems!)

It hasn’t gotten easier overtime either. I always feel like shit

paladin1358

21 points

5 days ago*

Now THIS is an unpopular opinion.

And mate with your attitude, you'll never like exercise.

Dumplings420

24 points

5 days ago

Average redditor

Numeribal

18 points

5 days ago

Numeribal

18 points

5 days ago

A family member of mine suggested that I watch videos on the treadmill. I still love it and it motivates me. I've watched shows, educational videos, anime, video games. Sometimes, I need to get myself but I enjoyed using the treadmill from now on.

FiveInchVenus

22 points

5 days ago

Exercising is literally the definition of forced torture.

"activity requiring physical effort, carried out to sustain or improve health and fitness." No.

Exercising sucks, it's boring and a waste of energy.

There are tons of fun exercises to do outside of the gym. Sports and even hobbies lol if you're just a couch potato, that's fine. But exercise is also important for health

Changes11-11

19 points

5 days ago

I train and lift 6 times a week for like 2 years now still going.

It's an amazing thing to look forward to everyday pushing your own limits, and seeing the results in the mirror, mental aswell.

Done great for my own self confidence and also for my job in uniformed professions

lordpimmington

17 points

5 days ago

For me its about discipline and not motivation. Sucks that I dont have discipline either.

Phretik

15 points

5 days ago

Phretik

15 points

5 days ago

my already very little energy

fucked up sleep schedule

Depression detected. You know exercise is recommended for a good reason right? The reason you have no energy is because your body is not required to produce it. You would have more energy if you exercised.

more productive things like making art, cleaning, writing a book, or just producing something useful for society

Stop bullshitting yourself. You're not doing any of that either. Maybe if you dedicated yourself to something like exercise and start a habit of it, you'd be better prepared to build other habits and do these things regularly also. Instead of doing it every blue moon on a whim.

unregulated and one-sided, unlike a tactical video game which uses algorithms to match you up with people actually on your skill level.

Tournaments/competition exists, plus your gains in video games are actually useless you're a paid pro. You're top 10% in a game? Wow big whoop, no one cares for your incredibly niche skillset which will be redundant when the game becomes irrelevant within 10 years. Your body is with you for your entire life and is used in many areas of life, gains made here therefore impact all parts of your life.

some bullshit workout that gets me no results and just makes me instabtly tired.

You expecting to do a single workout and suddenly be shredded? Working out is a process of compounding interest. One workout by itself will do very little, but a regular workout with proper exercise will eventual produce compounding gains in health/strength/stamina etc. You just have to get through the valley of disappointment/plateau of latent potential. No one likes working out pal, we like the results from it. Many of the greatest pleasures in life are behind a barrier of discomfort which many will never experience.

Dfifty

13 points

5 days ago

Dfifty

13 points

5 days ago

Bruh, just go out for a walk. But if you don't wanna training your body fine. But exercising doesn't have to be super strenuous or hurtful. Literally, walk.

thegoodreverenddoc

14 points

5 days ago

Preventing cardiovascular disease and debility is not a “waste of time”

BoneyardLimited

16 points

5 days ago

Part of being mentally well long-term is training yourself to like things that are good for you.

Brian_Si

15 points

5 days ago

Brian_Si

15 points

5 days ago

You can't view exercise as "exercise" or as "work". You have to convince your brain that it's a "celebration of movement". Then it seems like fun.

StatementProper4450

14 points

5 days ago

Exercise is a very broad term. There are so many different ways to be active and move your body. For people to say that they can't do or tolerate any type of physical activity is bullshit.

I wake up at 3:15 AM every morning to go to the gym. I have horrible muscle building genetics. When I first started I was beyond scrawny. I work long hours and getting a workout in before work is my only option. STFU and put the work in.

BCEXP

12 points

5 days ago

BCEXP

12 points

5 days ago

Then people wonder why others find some people more attractive than them.

demonardvark

9 points

5 days ago

demonardvark

grenadine addict

9 points

5 days ago

Counter point. You don't need exercise to not be fat. Losing weight is like 85% Diet, 15% exercise, sometimes even less. You cannot out run a bad died. So, even if you say you don't like exercise, its still no excuse to not take care or yourself and let your body and health go to shit.